Highlights from LREC 2016

LREC 2016 Opening

In the last week of May, the Slovenian coastal town of Portorož expected well over 1,000 visitors at this year’s LREC. The International Conference on Language Resources and Evaluation takes place biennially in various European and North African venues and has become the most important event in the field of language resources and evaluation of speech technologies.

LREC 2016Since its premiere in Grenada in 1998, it has transformed into an exceptional forum for scientists from around the world, employees from commercial enterprises and members of research institutes. The visitors discuss trends and technologies, present their most recent state of research and get inspired by developments in enterprises such as Google or Jibo.

Among the hot topics of LREC 2016 are the integration of intelligent speech processing in devices and robots, as well as the interactive correlation of the Internet of Things. Zoran Stančič, Head of the EU Representation in Ljubljana, Slovenia, highlighted the significance of speech resource development for the removal of language barriers in a Digital European Market. Conferences like LREC are more important than ever in reaching the goal of a collective market in a multilingual Europe. In the context of the conference numerous workshops and tutorials took place, where special subjects such as ethnic and legal matters in data collection or analysis of texts in social media were discussed.

LREC Kim Harris text&formKim Harris and Katrin Marheinecke represented text&form with two contributions in the workshop “Translation evaluation: From fragmented tools to an integrated ecosystem?” It dealt with the standardization of evaluation methods and tools for Machine translation to meet the needs of both research and language industry.

An opening reception with historical ambiance and an oceanfront gala dinner created a perfect setting for this diverse and topnotch industry highlight.

 

Do you want to learn more about the topics discussed at LREC 2016?

The collection of all workshop publications can be downloaded here: http://www.lrec-conf.org/proceedings/lrec2016/index.html

 

Logo Header Menu

Highlights der LREC 2016

LREC 2016 Opening

Weit über 1000 Besucher wurden in der letzten Maiwoche im slowenischen Küstenort Portorož zur diesjährigen LREC erwartet. Die „International Conference on Language Resources and Evaluation“ findet alle zwei Jahre an wechselnden Veranstaltungsorten in Europa und Nordafrika statt und ist inzwischen das wichtigste Event im Bereich Sprachressourcen und Evaluierung von Sprachtechnologien geworden.

LREC 2016Seit seiner Premiere im Jahr 1998 in Granada hat es sich zu einem einzigartigen Forum gemausert, bei dem Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt, Mitarbeiter aus Wirtschaftsunternehmen und Angehörige von Forschungsinstituten zusammenkommen, um Trends und Technologien zu diskutieren, ihre neuesten Forschungsstände zu präsentieren und mit Entwicklungen in Wirtschaftsunternehmen wie Google oder Jibo abzugleichen.

Zu den großen Themen der LREC 2016 zählte die Integration intelligenter Sprachverarbeitung in Geräten und Robotern sowie die interaktive Verknüpfung mit dem Internet der Dinge. In seiner Einführungsrede hob Zoran Stančič, Vorsitzender der EU-Repräsentanz in Ljbubljana (Slowenien), die Bedeutung der Entwicklung von Sprachressourcen und des Abbaus von Sprachbarrieren in einem Digitalen Europäischen Markt hervor. Um das Ziel des gemeinsamen Marktes in einem multilingualen Europa zu erreichen, sind Konferenzen wie die LREC als Austauschplattform wichtiger denn je.

LREC Kim Harris text&formAm Rande der Konferenz fanden zahlreiche Workshops und Tutorials statt, in denen Spezialthemen wie ethische und rechtliche Fragen bei der Datensammlung oder die Analyse von Texten in Sozialen Medien erörtert. text&form wurde von Kim Harris und Katrin Marheinecke mit zwei Beiträgen im Workshop zu einer vereinheitlichten Evaluierung von Übersetzungsqualität in der Maschinellen Übersetzung vertreten. Es ging darum, die Arbeit der Forschung in diesem Feld besser mit dem Industriebedarf in Einklang zu bringen.

 

Ein Eröffnungsempfang in stimmungsvollem Ambiente und ein Gala-Diner am Meer bildeten einen würdigen Rahmen für dieses vielfältige und hochkarätige besetzte Branchenhighlight.

Möchten Sie genauer wissen, welche Themen auf der LREC 2016 diskutiert wurden?

Die Sammlung aller Workshop-Paper kann hier heruntergeladen werden.

Logo Header Menu